FloridaFlorida

Expunction of Juvenile Records

Authored By: Florida's Children First
Contents
FAQ Download

FAQ

What's new?  +

The Florida Legislature recently changed the time frame for young adults who wish to have their juvenile records expunged. 

Early Application for Expunction  +

Young adults may now apply for expunction of juvenile records prior to age 21. In order to apply, you may not have been charged or been found to have committed a criminal offense within the past 5 years. 

Reduced Age for Automatic Expunction  +

Young adults who have juvenile criminal records that were eligible for automatic expunction at age 24 will now have those records automatically expunged at age 21. 

Eliminates Time Frame for Juvenile Diversion Expunction.  +

If you completed pre or post arrest juvenile diversion program you can seek expunction at any time – not just within the 12 months after completion of the program. 

What Else Do I Need to Know?  +

Juvenile records will not be expunged if: you were adjudicated as a minor for sexual offenses; adjudicated as an adult; or if after turning 18 you were charged or convicted of a forcible felony.

Adults, who when under 18, were considered to be serious or habitual juvenile offenders, or who were committed to a juvenile correctional facility or prison will have their record automatically expunged at age 26 and are not eligible for early expunction.

Expunction does not mean that your record goes away entirely. The fact of your arrest may still be discovered by searching commercial databases.

Senate Bill 386 goes into effect on July 1, 2016.  

Download

Last Review and Update: May 01, 2016